Skip to main content

It was a very exciting season in the Speedway Grand Prix where Artem Laguta and Bartosz Zmarzlik wrestled for the World Champion title over 11 rounds. Everything became clear in the semifinal of the last tournament in Torun.

Artem Laguta became the first Russian World Champion to ever win the prestigious title. Prior to him only Igor Plechanov, from what was then the Soviet Union, came in second in 1964 in Goteborg, Sweden and in 1965 in London, Great Britain. Laguta is the first World Champion born in Asia. His home town is Bolshoy Kamen – a little town near Vladivostok on the Sea of Japan coast.

With the former World Champion, Bartosz Zmarzlik, finishing in the 2nd place the bronze medal went to Emil Sayfutdinov from Russia.

It’s worth pointing out that speedway on the US east coast is also connected to some of the SGP action. Not only do some of our riders ride SGP motors and bikes, it so happens that the Team Laguta manager, Rafal Lewicki, is the co-owner of the Speed Products speedway shop in Bydgoszcz, Poland. Rafal has poured his heart and soul into this year’s SGP campaign. His shop, Speed Products, is one of the main sponsors of MotoSpeedway and has also been supplying and sponsoring some of our own riders on the east coast for the last couple of years. 

We would like to congratulate Artem Laguta, Rafal Lewicki, and the entire Team Laguta on their well deserved victory and the Speedway World Champion title!!!

Also last week, FIM introduced their partnership with Discovery Sports to jointly promote Speedway World Championship in the years 2022 to 2031. Starting next year the SGP season will run from April to November. Australia should be coming back to the schedule, and the United States is said to also be a priority for Discovery Sports.

More info about the new SGP format can be found on the FIM website: CLICK HERE

Official SGP standings:

1st Artem Laguta (MFR/Russia) 192 pts
2nd Bartosz Zmarzlik (Poland) 189
3rd Emil Sayfutdinov (MFR/Russia) 149
4th Maciej Janowski (Poland) 129
5th Fredrik Lindgren (Sweden) 129
6th Tai Woffinden (Great Britiain) 122
7th Leon Madsen (Denmark) 108
8th Max Fricke (Australia) 94
9th Jason Doyle (Australia) 87
10th Robert Lambert (Great Britain) 82
11th Anders Thomsen (Denmark) 73
12th Martin Vaculik (Slovakia) 54
13th Matej Zagar (Slovenia) 45
14th Dominik Kubera (Poland) 44
15th Oliver Berntzon (Sweden) 32
16th Krzysztof Kasprzak (Poland) 28
17th Pawel Przedpelski (Poland) 13
18th Mikkel Michelsen (Denmark) 9
19th Gleb Chugunov (Poland) 8
20th Jan Kvech (Czech Rep.) 7
21th Aleksandr Loktaev (Ukraine) 6
22th Vadim Tarasenko (MFR/Russia) 4
23th Jaimon Lidsey (Australia) 1
24th Pontus Aspgren (Sweden) 1


All Right Reserved © Copyright